Digital Realty’s first facility in S Korea to debut in 2021

Digital Realty has began construction on its first facility in South Korea today following a virtual ground-breaking ceremony. The facility is scheduled to be ready for customers in the fourth quarter of 2021.

Digital Seoul 1 (ICN10), the first carrier-neutral facility in Korea, will be built on a 22,000-square-foot property within the Sangam Digital Media City in northwest Seoul, a newly developed urban planning zone focused on technology and media companies, and designed to promote South Korea’s digital economy.

The move marks a significant expansion of PlatformDIGITAL across Asia Pacific which will enable customers to rapidly scale digital transformation by deploying critical infrastructure with a global data centre provider at the heart of a growing community of interest in Seoul.

ICN10 is designed to accommodate 12 megawatts of information technology (IT) load. The building will encompass over 162,000 square feet, spanning twelve levels. It will provide seamless connectivity, with a vibrant community of domestic and internal bandwidth and data service providers, internet transit, and multiple internet access services.

“The current pandemic has accelerated the pace of digital transformation and adoption of cloud services across the world,” said Digital Realty CEO A. William Stein. “Customers in the Asia Pacific region are set to gain from our new ICN10 facility, as they ramp up their own digitalisation efforts.”

Jay Weon Khym, country manager of Korea at Digital Realty, said that when completed, the multi-story facility will not only support domestic business growth, but also broaden opportunities for more international companies to expand their core digital assets into the South Korean market with a truly-carrier neutral platform.

The new Seoul development will strengthen Digital Realty’s presence within the Asia Pacific region, where the company currently operates a network of industry-leading data centres located in Tokyo, Osaka, Hong Kong, Singapore, Sydney and Melbourne.